Skip to content

John Mauldin on Gold – Doug Ross @ Journal

09/04/2011

John Mauldin, author and financial advisor, has some interesting thoughts on gold.

The question I am asked the most is some variant on “What do you think about gold?” So, let me deal with that question here, as it has been a while.

First, I do not think of gold as an investment. It is insurance for me. I buy a rather fixed amount of gold nearly every month, no matter the price. I hope the price of gold goes down, because that means I get more coins in the mail to go into the vault. Yes, I take delivery of my gold, and it is near me if I need it.

 

 

My fondest dream is that I will give my gold coins to my great-great grandkids some 70-80 years from now, and they will be rather embarrassed that their “Papa John” bought all that much of that barbarous yellow metal instead of more biotech stocks. But as I live in the real world, I buy gold, even though I am optimistic we’ll get through this rough patch; because I simply don’t trust the bas*%*ds who are driving this ship with 100% of my money in dollars, or any fiat currency, for that matter. […]

Read More at Doug Ross @ Journal.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Sara Stewart permalink
    09/04/2011 11:04 pm

    I agree! Good investment to buy gold!! Sorry sp.

Leave a Reply

